Community Engagement

Iowa Space Grant Consortium

The ISGC is part of the NASA National Space Grant College and Fellowship Program, authorized by Congress in 1987. The ISGC was formed in 1990 by the three Regents' universities (Iowa State University, the University of Iowa, and the University of Northern Iowa). Drake University joined as our fourth academic affiliate in July 1996.  The ISGC has 15 additional affiliates from government, industry and nonprofit organizations state-wide. The mission of the ISGC is to coordinate and improve Iowa's future in aerospace science and technology and to stimulate aerospace research, education and outreach activities throughout the state. These goals are carried out through partnerships with the Consortium's affiliates. The ISGC's work is organized into the program categories of  fellowships/scholarships, higher education, informal education, precollege, and research infrastructure.